Sunday, November 21, 2021 ~ A Study in Philippians ~ Series: BACK TO BASICS ~ LIVE Message: The Basics of Giving ~ Scripture: Philippians 4:10–23 ESV ~ Podcast: Living The Message ~ Episode 8: Getting Back to the Basics ~ Pastor Philip Miller

Image: The Basics of Giving

WELCOME

Sunday, November 21, 2021

A Study in Philippians

Series: BACK TO BASICS

LIVE Message: The Basics of Giving

Scripture: Philippians 4:10-23 ESV

Podcast: “Living The Message”

Episode 8: Getting Back to the Basics

Pastor Philip Miller

Scripture Reading 1 Chronicles 16:8, 34; Psalm 69:30; Psalm 100:4–5; Psalm 9:1–2

1 Chronicles 16, Psalm 69, Psalm 100, Psalm 9 ESV and Audio


David’s Song of Thanks

Oh give thanks to the Lord; call upon his name;
    make known his deeds among the peoples!

34 Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good;
    for his steadfast love endures forever!

30 I will praise the name of God with a song;
    I will magnify him with thanksgiving.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving,
    and his courts with praise!
    Give thanks to him; bless his name!

For the Lord is good;
    his steadfast love endures forever,
    and his faithfulness to all generations.

I will give thanks to the Lord with my whole heart;
    I will recount all of your wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and exult in you;
    I will sing praise to your name, O Most High.

^Videos by Inspirational>1…

“Great Is Thy Faithfulness” 1923 by  Thomas O. Chisholm

^Videos by Inspirational>1…

LIVE 11:00 AM EST ~ Message: The Basics of Giving ~ Scripture: Philippians 4:10-23 ESV

^Videos by Inspirational>1…

Message: The Basics of Giving

Sunday, November 21, 2021

Scripture: Philippians 4:10-23 ESV 

Philippians 4 and Audio


God’s Provision

10 I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. 11 Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

14 Yet it was kind of you to share my trouble. 15 And you Philippians yourselves know that in the beginning of the gospel, when I left Macedonia, no church entered into partnership with me in giving and receiving, except you only. 16 Even in Thessalonica you sent me help for my needs once and again. 17 Not that I seek the gift, but I seek the fruit that increases to your credit. 18 I have received full payment, and more. I am well supplied, having received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent, a fragrant offering, a sacrifice acceptable and pleasing to God. 19 And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. 20 To our God and Father be glory forever and ever. Amen.

Final Greetings

21 Greet every saint in Christ Jesus. The brothers who are with me greet you. 22 All the saints greet you, especially those of Caesar’s household.

23 The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit.

SERMON NOTES

Sunday, November 21, 2021

A Study in Philippians

Series: BACK TO BASICS

Message: The Basics of Giving

Scripture: Philippians 4:10-23 ESV

Pastor Philip Miller

In many ways, the Book of Philippians is kind of a thank you note from the Apostle Paul. Because of Paul’s financial hardships under house arrest in Rome, the Philippian believers pooled their resources and sent him a gift to sustain him. Epaphroditus was their courier entrusted with the gift. Now Epaphroditus is headed back to Philippi with this letter in hand we now know as Philippians.

So, this letter is a kind of thank you note. Except, Paul never actually says “thank you.” In fact, it’s one of the worst thank you notes ever. But as we explore this passage, we’ll see that Paul is giving us the inside scoop on how we can be truly rich.

Those who are truly rich value three things:

1) The Freedom of Contentment

2) The Power of Generosity

3) The Treasures of Eternity

1) The Freedom of Contentment (vv. 10–13)
• The truly rich choose to live with open hands. In Christ, we have far greater resources than money can ever provide.

God’s Provision

10 I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity. 11 Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. 12 I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. 13 I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

2) The Power of Generosity (vv. 14–18)
• The truly rich know it is more blessed to give than to receive. Those blessings come both now (giving changes us) and later (storing up Heavenly treasure).

14 Yet it was kind of you to share my trouble. 15 And you Philippians yourselves know that in the beginning of the gospel, when I left Macedonia, no church entered into partnership with me in giving and receiving, except you only. 16 Even in Thessalonica you sent me help for my needs once and again. 17 Not that I seek the gift, but I seek the fruit that increases to your credit. 18 I have received full payment, and more. I am well supplied, having received from Epaphroditus the gifts you sent, a fragrant offering, a sacrifice acceptable and pleasing to God.

3) The Treasures of Eternity (vv. 19–23)
• The truly rich prize the eternal value of God’s Word and God’s people. There is no greater return in investment than to invest in God’s Word and God’s people. No other investment is as secure, of higher significance, or yields greater satisfaction.

19 And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus. 20 To our God and Father be glory forever and ever. Amen.

Final Greetings

21 Greet every saint in Christ Jesus. The brothers who are with me greet you. 22 All the saints greet you, especially those of Caesar’s household.

23 The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ be with your spirit.

Takeaway:
• “Where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” – Jesus of Nazareth (Matthew 6:21)

Where is your heart?

^Videos by Inspirational>1…

Podcast: “Living The Message” Episode 8: Getting Back to the Basics

Podcast: “Living The Message” 

Episode 8: Getting Back to the Basics

Pastor Philip and Pastor Eric

Podcast Updated Weekly 

Tuesday, November 23, 2021

How does a 2000 year old letter to the Philippians apply to our lives today? Paul intended the letter to help us focus on the fundamentals of the Christian faith and to understand who we are as a family of God.

In this episode, Pastors Philip and Eric discuss the four main themes that we explored throughout the book: identity, community, resiliency, and clarity. The Christian life isn’t something we do, it’s who we are!

Philip Miller Senior Pastor

PASTOR TO PEOPLE

Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:18)

We need Thanksgiving more than we realize. In tough times—like those we’ve been through in these past years, and still continue to face in many ways—it does our heart good to pause and remember how good our God is to us. Gratitude helps us break away from the frantic pace of life’s demands, the intrusiveness of our regrets, and the striving of our future aims, and for a moment remember that God is good. His love is real. His presence is precious. His generosity is everywhere. Let’s resolve to take a few minutes of focused prayer this week giving thanks to our God from whom all blessings flow! Perhaps these questions will spark our thinking:

• What do I have that He has not given me?
• Where have I experienced His kindness this past year?
• How has He protected me when I didn’t even know He was?
• Who has shown me His love and grace afresh this year?
• Which of His gifts do I so often take for granted?

Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever. (Psalm 136:1)

Remember, you are loved, more than you know!

THIS SITE {Inspirational} is not responsible for advertisements nor “Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)”