Sunday, November 7, 2021 ~ A Study in Philippians ~ Series: BACK TO BASICS ~ Message: The Basics of Maturity ~ Scripture: Philippians 3:12–4:1 ESV ~ Podcast: Living The Message ~ Episode 6:  Living Purposefully as Citizens of Heaven ~ Pastor Philip Miller 

Image: Veterans’ Day

Thursday, November 11, 2021

…”Our everyday lives and freedoms were won at great cost. So many have served and sacrificed for us. So we pause and honor our Veterans this week. To each of you who have served our country, we honor you. Thank you for your service. Thank you for your sacrifice.”*

WELCOME

Sunday, November 7, 2021

A Study in Philippians

Series: BACK TO BASICS

Message: The Basics of Maturity

Scripture: Philippians 3:12–4:1 ESV

Podcast: “Living The Message”

Episode 6: Living Purposefully as Citizens of Heaven

Pastor Philip Miller

Scripture Reading from Philippians 3:7–14 ESV

Philippians 3 ESV and Audio

Righteousness Through Faith in Christ

But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith— 10 that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 that by any means possible I may attain the resurrection from the dead.

Straining Toward the Goal

12 Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. 13 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. 

^Videos by Inspirational>1…

 “Draw Me Nearer” 2006 by CBU (California Baptist University)

^Videos by Inspirational>1…

LIVE 11:00 AM EST ~ Message: The Basics of Maturity ~ Scripture: Philippians 3:12–4:1 ESV

 

^Videos by Inspirational>1…

Message: The Basics of Maturity

Sunday, November 7, 2021

Scripture: Philippians 3:12–4:1 ESV 

Philippians 3, 4 ESV and Audio

Straining Toward the Goal

12 Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. 13 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. 15 Let those of us who are mature think this way, and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal that also to you. 16 Only let us hold true to what we have attained.

17 Brothers, join in imitating me, and keep your eyes on those who walk according to the example you have in us. 18 For many, of whom I have often told you and now tell you even with tears, walk as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19 Their end is destruction, their god is their belly, and they glory in their shame, with minds set on earthly things. 20 But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, 21 who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.

Therefore, my brothers, whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, stand firm thus in the Lord, my beloved.

Image:  The Basics of Maturity


SERMON NOTES

Sunday, November 7, 2021

 

A Study in Philippians

Series: BACK TO BASICS

Message: The Basics of Maturity

Scripture: Philippians 3:12–4:1 ESV

Pastor Philip Miller

Who do you want to be when you grow up?  It’s not just a question for children, it’s a question for all of us. Because, if God has given us new birth by grace through faith in Jesus’ life substituted for ours on the cross, and if God has then filled us with his Holy Spirit who is teaching us to walk in His ways, and if every moment of every day is an opportunity to be with Jesus and learn from Him how to live so that we are transformed increasingly into the image and likeness of Jesus, then we are all in fact still growing up.

We all have a whole lot of maturing ahead of us if we are to become gloriously like Jesus forever.

In this passage, the Apostle Paul explores spiritual maturity with 3 vital insights: 

1) The Pursuit of Maturity

2) The Pattern of Maturity

3) The Prospect of Maturity


1) The Pursuit of Maturity (3:12–16)

• Spiritual maturity is not a destination, but a pursuit.This side of glory, we will never fully arrive, because we’re a work in progress. This is the process of being progressively conformed to the image of Christ.  

Straining Toward the Goal

12 Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own. 13 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. 15 Let those of us who are mature think this way, and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal that also to you. 16 Only let us hold true to what we have attained.

2) The Pattern of Maturity (3:17–19)

• Spiritual maturity is less taught, and more caught. Imitation is the key to maturation. Be ever careful who you keep your eyes on. We become what we behold.  This is why Paul warns against those who we shouldn’t imitate. 

17 Brothers, join in imitating me, and keep your eyes on those who walk according to the example you have in us. 18 For many, of whom I have often told you and now tell you even with tears, walk as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19 Their end is destruction, their god is their belly, and they glory in their shame, with minds set on earthly things.

3) The Prospect of Maturity (3:20–21)

• Spiritual maturity is living here, while belonging there. We reside as citizens on earth, but we belong as citizens of Heaven. The way of Jesus is to be in the world, but not of the world. Jesus showed us the way through the Incarnation, when He embodied both presence and holiness at once. This is the call to live as fully engaged citizens of earth, whose real, true, ultimate home and allegiance belong to our citizenship in Heaven. We are to be in the world but not of the world. 

20 But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, 21 who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power that enables him even to subject all things to himself.

Takeaway (4:1): Stand firm in the Lord, my beloved.

 

^Videos by Inspirational>1…

Episode 6:  Living Purposefully as Citizens of Heaven

Podcast: “Living The Message”

Episode 6: Living Purposefully as Citizens of Heaven

Pastor Philip and Pastor Eric

Tuesday, November 9, 2021

All Christians deal with the unique tension of living in the world while being a citizen of heaven. How should we manage this tension in a way that keeps us engaged in the lives of those around us while maintaining our ultimate focus on Christ? In this episode, Pastors Philip and Eric discuss practical approaches to living as citizens of Heaven in a fallen world.

Questions can be submitted by text to 312-682-1888 or by email to livingthemessage@moodychurch.org.

Philip Miller Senior Pastor

PASTOR TO PEOPLE

Thursday is going to be tough for me this year. Veterans’ Day just won’t seem right without a phone call with my Grandpa Miller. He retired from the Air Force as a Lieutenant Colonel and was a patriot through and through. I’d call him each year on Veterans Day and thank him for his service. Then he would tell me about all the good deals and discounts he’d gotten throughout the day. It was like he had won the lottery!

Growing up, I remember going on summer trips with my grandparents to Branson, Missouri. Many of the shows down there had a patriotic moment in honor of Veterans. My Grandpa would rise to his feet, chest swelling out, back straight as a ramrod, and a far-off, misty look would come into his eyes. Even as a kid, I knew I was observing something beautiful. Those moments went deep into the corners of his story. There were joy and pain, sacrifice and glory, as all those years of service came rushing back. In those moments, the Patriot was reborn. Grandpa was ready to serve all over again if ever his country called.

Grandpa loved his country. He knew America isn’t a perfect place, but he believed she is worth fighting for. He was proud to be an American, in the very best sense. This Thursday I won’t be able to call him, since he’s now with Jesus. But I’ll call Grandma, and we’ll honor him together. It won’t be the same without him here with us.

Far too often we forget that freedom isn’t free. Our everyday lives and freedoms were won at great cost. So many have served and sacrificed for us. So we pause and honor our Veterans this week. To each of you who have served our country, we honor you. Thank you for your service. Thank you for your sacrifice.*

You are loved, more than you know!

THIS SITE {Inspirational} is not responsible for advertisements nor “Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)”